where we are now

The first thing I did this morning was cuddle with my husband and baby. Just like every morning. Giles giggled and kicked his legs. We kissed his face.

I am angry. Even if Hillary had been elected, we would still have to face the fact that so many people in our country support a man who feels it is okay to sexually assault women, who spouts racism and sexism and hate. There are problems here. It is not okay.

My friend Alexander shared what he wrote on his classroom board today:

Do Now: The election is over. No matter who you wanted to win, at least one thing is true: you have the ability to do something today to make the world a better place. What can you do?
HW: Do that thing. 

I am making a list of the things I can do:

  • raise my son, teach him to use his privilege for good. show him by example to stand up for people who are marginalized. teach him to respect women. teach him to love and be loved. teach him to use his own brain and listen to his gut, and be himself.
  • speak my mind, both in person and online. say things that are true and right. call people out when they say things that are racist, sexist, offensive, wrong.
  • continue living in this country. we need to stay here and make it better. organize. speak out. be kind.
  • support my loved ones and strangers who may be put in danger by this administration.
  • keep learning. be open. listen.
  • make art.
  • continue to be a woman who demands to be taken seriously, who demands equal rights, who does not want her pussy grabbed without permission.

I’ll add to this list as I go. Live my life in the way I believe is best. Be the change. Today I will make coffee, hold my baby as he naps, play with him, laugh, read, sing. I will cook. I will write a bit in my journal, maybe do some drawing if I can. If it stops raining I will go out for a walk and smile at my neighbors.

What can you do?
Do that thing.

Leave a Reply

