sadie sadie married lady (or, “Once upon a blue moon”)

Things I love about being married so far:
1. Greg’s honeymoon beard (RIP, since he had to shave it for work yesterday.)
2. The mysterious way it all feels “different” now.
3. Saying “my husband.”
4. Looking at all the wedding pics people are posting on facebook and instagram and glowing at how beautiful I feel and recalling how perfect and wonderful that day was.

It was a perfect wedding. I loved every second, every magical ounce of it. To have so many people in one place who love me, who love Greg and me together, was such a big feeling of love that I almost floated off the ground. On the dance floor I jumped so lightly that I forgot gravity completely until my knees reminded me the next morning.

Some favorite moments: the whole ceremony. Walking down the aisle (through the field more accurately) and knowing this was really happening, this wedding, this life. Holding onto my dad and sister as we walked together. Feeling my mom with us. My sister reading the e.e. Cummings poem I always knew she’d read at my wedding. Our vows, which we wrote ourselves, my eyes filling with tears the whole time. Standing under the chuppah that Greg made, my mom’s Tallis draped over it. Our amazing bridal party standing around us, reading the group poem they didn’t even get to practice ahead of time. The song my friend Diana wrote for us, about us, me looking into Greg’s eyes as she sang. Dancing out through the grass, and then down the road a bit, away for just a few moments alone. The speeches (our dads, Greg’s brother and my sister). I knew my dad ‘s speech would make me cry, and it did. My sister’s unplanned, not written down speech that came out so on point from her wild heart. Greg’s brother and dad so lovingly honoring us, and welcoming me into their family. Our first dance, the father daughter dance, the secret surprise choreographed dance by my sister, dad and me. And all the dancing, so much dancing, all night long. I only peed once, and barely ate two bites. It was the best.

I’m so happy.

Here are some photos taken by my family and friends:

We were married at Cricket Creek Farm, in Williamstown, MA, and I can’t recommend it highly enough– what a beautiful place. Flowers were done by Karen Trubitt of True Love Farm in Shaftsbury, VT (with the loving help of our amazing flower team). Food was pizza from Hot Tomatoes in Williamstown and Ramuntos in Bennington, salads by Wild Oats Market, cider donuts by The Apple Barn, ice cream by Ben & Jerry’s. Home-crafted beer by Brooks St. Brewery, with additional alcohol by Spirited. Professional photography by Steven Trubitt and additional photos by LeahB (will post those when I have them, the above pics are from people’s phones, which I pulled from facebook, etc.). This was truly a group effort, with so much help from our families, bridal party, other friends. Every flower, every chair, every light string, tablecloth, and clothespin was placed with love by the people we love, and we couldn’t have done it without them.

And Greg, my darling husband, I could not have done this without you. Thanks for asking me to marry you 🙂

2 thoughts on “sadie sadie married lady (or, “Once upon a blue moon”)

  1. It WAS a beautiful wedding, Anna! And just the special day you had made special for yourselves! So happy that you enjoyed every minute of it, appreciated the behind- the-scenes efforts of many people ( most especially your new mother-in-law!), and are relishing the married state. Long marriages run in our family–I hope yours is very long and special.

Leave a Reply

