comics workshop at The Collegiate School

I went to the city (New York– I still call it The City, as if it’s the only one) last Wednesday to teach a comics workshop to the fourth grade boys at The Collegiate School. This is the second comics workshop I’ve done with kids this year, and I feel so inspired to do more. Seeing kids excited about reading and making comics I see myself at their age, reading Archie every chance I got (as well as Calvin and Hobbes and Sylvia), tracing the characters, drawing my own. Everything I do now as an adult (comics, stories, movies, dancing) is something I loved as a nine-year-old. To me, that is success.

It’s awesome that schools are finally treating comics as literature and teaching them as a storytelling technique. I got to see my friend Chris and watch him teach (so good!), and my dad came with me so we also got to spend a really nice spring day in Manhattan. Breakfast at French Roast, a movie at Lincoln Plaza Cinemas (Felix et Meira – soooooooo beautiful, I loved it, I’m still thinking about it), tried a new pizza place (it was okay– still not as good as our old favorite, Ray’s on 6th ave. and 11th st. which is now gone), and some nice walking around. It was a good day.

pops at french roast20150506_095354 IMG_20150506_190627 20150506_170810 20150506_171315                          20150506_17300020150506_172705

Thank you so much to Chris Stevenson, The Collegiate School, and of course my awesome dad.

3 thoughts on “comics workshop at The Collegiate School

  1. sounds like a wonderful and very busy day, Anna! I am jealous…..And you are right– so cool that comics is being taught as a literature form! ANY writing that gets kids interested in the written word is acceptable!,

Leave a Reply

