dancer drawings exhibit

My exhibit at the ’62 Center in Williamstown, MA
Dancing and drawing are two of my favorite things, and it’s been a joy to combine them in this project. I’ve been auditing Janine‘s ballet classes for several semesters, which has been transformative for me inside and out. While drawing the dancers, I can feel the movements in my own body as I put them down on paper. The water color pieces were done from life, while the more detailed line drawings were done from photographs I took during rehearsals. I wanted to both express movement and capture the beauty of the poses.
Here’s a close-up of my outfit in the bathroom:
 flower dress in bathroom
This dress was originally short and tight– I remade it to fit me better. The shoes were my mom’s. Click on each of the images below to see them larger.

 

4 thoughts on “dancer drawings exhibit

Leave a Reply

