Under the Skin

Some of my thoughts on the movie Under The Skin, for the Images Cinema Blog.

Images Cinema Blog

under-the-skin-scarjo

As I walked out of the theater after watching Under The Skin (the third feature film from director Jonathan Glazer, who also made Sexy Beast and Birth), I had to remind myself that I am indeed human and live in a society with other people. I had to check my skin to see if it was on tight. I had to eat dumplings and a Twix bar and go see The Other Woman (another review for another time) in order to bring myself back to reality. But as my swirling thoughts sank in I realized how amazing this movie is.

As humans, the instruments through which we process and experience the world are our bodies, the outermost layer being our skin. It seems like so many philosophers, etc. are always talking about how we should leave the body behind and focus on the mind, but really, what makes us human is…

View original post 283 more words

Leave a Reply

