behind the wheel

It’s been about 7 years since I was behind the wheel of a car. 10 years since I drove on a regular basis, and even then I didn’t drive often or long enough to ever get comfortable. Today I got behind the wheel for a driving lesson with my boyfriend, Greg.

driving I expected to feel anxious and unnatural, like I was fighting my true inner self– which is how I felt at 16, 17 and 18 learning to drive, and how I’ve felt every time I’ve sat in the driver’s seat. I’ve been determined for 10 years to live as a non-driver, convinced that if I never got behind the wheel again I’d be content.

But today I felt fine. Confident. The parking lot loops went so well I took to the open road. Maybe it’s all the biking I’ve been doing, or just that my brain is different now, fully formed and adult. Maybe it’s my personal confidence in myself, or that Greg is incredibly patient and kind to me, and opens my heart in a million ways.

I felt jazzed. Independent. Empowered. In the special way that learning a new skill does to us.

There are buds on the tree outside my window. Greg is making cheeseburgers. I’m happy.

4 thoughts on “behind the wheel

  1. Great post,Anna! Very true insights to human nature,,,I tried riding a bike after 40 years last year and it was scary at first but it didn’t take long for that more confident feeling to catch me off guard. very good for all of us to try– or retry– new things on a regular basis!

  2. Great news Anna! It’s good to decide you’re not going to do something, when that’s how you feel. And then equally good to say “now I am going to do that thing I once said I wouldn’t do!” We are never stuck in one form, one idea…. Good for you for knowing this! xoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

