Feliz Días de los Muertos

Phoebe’s post for dia de los muertos today.

phoebesmundo

For me, watching my students´ performance of “The Skeleton Woman” at the English show in Futa on Tuesday was a wonderful way to celebrate the Day of the Dead. It was really beautiful to watch one of my mom´s favorite stories, a symbol of the life and death cycle and of true love, acted out in front of me by a wonderful group of kids. I will post pictures as soon as I have them.

For now, here are two Neruda poems for my family´s favorite holiday:

Winter Garden

winter arrives. shining dictation
the wet leaves give me,
dressed in silence and yellow.

i am a book of snow,
a spacious hand, an open meadow,
a circle that waits,
i belong to the earth and its winter.

earth’s rumor grew in the leaves,
soon the wheat flared up
punctuated by red flowers like burns,
then autumn arrived to set down

View original post 324 more words

Leave a Reply

