girl friends

I’ve written about girl friends before on this blog; the specialness of those female friendships, whether they are long-time friends or new ones.

I spent this past weekend at a house in the woods with a group of ladies for my friend Leah’s bachelorette party. Spending time with 3 of my closest friends whom I’ve known since middle school was so wonderful. It had been about two years since we’d all been together, but whenever we are I am reminded of how much I love them and how much fun it is doing anything together. There were six other girls there– a couple I had met briefly, but most I didn’t know at all– and it was such a blast.  We laughed a lot and I felt so comfortable, present and happy.

I spend a lot of time alone these days. It can be hard to venture out of my studio apartment cave to socialize. This weekend reminded me how important friends are. I felt the deep connection with my old friends and the magic of meeting new people.

To all my great girl friends out there (including my mom, sister, aunts, cousins and grandma), old and new, this post is for you.

And a huge shout out to my BFF Shana (we met on the school bus 21 years ago) who just graduated from medical school!!! Good work Dr. Shosky!

And now here’s a comic about a recent day with Janet (an awesome lady I have known for over a year and a half now, who has quickly become a good friend and movie buddy):

Leave a Reply

