unicorns have always sort of been my thing.

Do any of you play that robot unicorn game online? I have been playing far too much of it since I found out about it two days ago. I’ve never been one for video or computer games, but something about this one just gets to me. I’m addicted.

When I was little I collected little unicorn things. Isn’t there just something about them? Their magic, their mystery. Did they ever exist? Do they still, somewhere? Something about them has always intrigued me. I like to think that I could be the kind of person that finds a unicorn.

“I don’t give a damn, I’m happy as a clam. Nobody knows me at all.” This is a line from a song by the Weepies, a band my friend Danika recently burned me a cd of. That’s sort of how I’ve always felt, in a way. That I know myself, maybe no one else does, but there’s a kind of power in that. There’s also a kind of loneliness. I’ve always kept certain things to myself and not really let people past a certain wall that I set up a long time ago. Lately I’ve been trying to be more honest, more open. When I meet new people I decide to be myself and not make concessions or alterations this time. This time I will be all me, and if they don’t like it then to heck with ’em.

Some days are good, some are less good. Some days are even totally shitty, but it’s ok. It’s life, it’s this circle/cycle/path that just keeps going along no matter what until we die. Nothing can stop it except death. So as long as we’re here, we just have to keep rolling with it, because there is no choice about that. The choice is in how we do it. My mom has always said, “You can be miserable or you can be happy. Which will it be?”

Leave a Reply

