terminators need gal-pals too.

terminator hoodies

Even a robot needs a girl-friend to go dancing with after a long day of riding motorcycles and wearing sunglasses. Even when we feel we can do it all on our own, that we don’t need to (or want to) ask anyone for help or company, it sure is nice to have a friend who picks us up when we’re down. Someone who calls when we really need someone to talk to, but aren’t able to pick up the phone. Someone who’ll come get us when we’re drunk and crying, or lost. Who supports us when we are at our lowest. Even if you have a really great romantic partner, there is nothing like your best gal-pals.

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the importance of girl-friends. As a girl (well, woman, but here I will use the term “girl” because there is something in the nature of the word “girl-friend” which implies a different feeling than “woman-friend;” something silly and secretive, something arm-linky and partner-in-crime-y that I don’t feel when I hear “woman-friend.”), anyways, as a girl, I have always felt that my girl-friends are a very special part of my life.

I am really lucky to have some wonderful women and girls in my life and I just want them to know I appreciate them. My sister, my mom, grandma, aunts, cousins, old friends who I consider family, new friends who have recently come into my life, but who I have been looking for for a long time.

So, here’s to girl-friends. All those near and far, who are special in all of our lives.

4 thoughts on “terminators need gal-pals too.

  1. Pingback: girl friends | Lev Hardware

Leave a Reply

